Surgery Day & The Aftermath

I would not really call that ten-minute process surgery, but I have no better term to use. I didn’t tell a lot of people about this before it happened because I hate the associated drama (I made a post on WordPress, though, but I know most of my friends won’t see it if I don’t share it on Facebook. . . and I didn’t!). But now that everything is done; I can share with everyone.

I tried to keep track of everything in my notepad to post it later, but I failed. I did write some notes, but I remember the rest.

Saturday, April 14th, 2012

08:20

“I woke up about 30 minutes ago. The last time I ate was at 02:30, as I need to spend 6 hours without eating before surgery; doctor’s orders. I am currently supposed to get dressed. I was not afraid, but my parents’ increasing-yet-unspoken anxiety about general anesthesia is giving me a stomachache.”

08:25

“My mum does laundry too much. . . and they should totally have WordPress in the afterlife.”

I spent a lot of time in the car, listening to music and whatnot. It felt weird, because I was supposed to be worried, but I really wasn’t.

09:35

“We arrived, and they made me wait.”

There was nothing interesting in the waiting room that time, and I really regretted not having brought Dan Brown’s The DaVinci Code with me.

10:00

“They sent us to a private room, and gave me weird pink pajamas to wear after some nurse measured my temperature and blood pressure. They also gave me plastic-bag-like things; overshoes and overhead.”

Of course, as long as my cellphone was on me, I took pictures.

The room I stayed in. . . (April 14th, 2012)

Those said pajamas had a greenish shade to them, resulting from being washed with green gowns and whatnot. Gee, people, separate your laundry!

I spent a lot of time in that room with my parents, waiting for anyone to tell us anything. Finally, at an hour I am not quite sure of, a nurse walked in and took me to the surgery room.

The door to the operation room. . . I took this picture AFTER everything was over. . . (April 14th, 2012)

There, I lay on the bed, and let myself go. They placed my left hand on some kind of plate and shoved a cannula in it. A doctor proceeded to inject something into me – I think – as he hummed merrily. A nurse simultaneously covered my body with a green table-cloth like thing. Someone then held a yellow lined mask over my head, and it reeked of something. . . then I was totally out.

12:50 (written while under the influence of Intraval)

I woke up 10 minutes ago. I am writing under the influence of Intraval. . . that’s not bad. My mind is working properly but my body is slightly shaking and my tongue is heavy with a dry throat. I cursed some, but that’s about it. There is a cotton pack in my nose and I am sleeping under one cotton and one woolen blanket. . . It tastes like banana and it’s disgusting.

Not bad, considering the state I was in. My mind was not working as properly as I thought it was, but that’s what the drug does to you. It also had a very euphoric feeling, but I would have preferred if it was accompanied with proper muscle movement.

12:55 (written while under the influence of Intraval)

I took pictures of the cyst and my throat is so dry. . . I want to get dressed and go out and see people.

I have no idea what that was supposed to mean. See people? Since when did I like people so much?

Anyways, we left at 14:00 but most of the time spent in the hospital was spent waiting for stuff. The effect of Intraval wore off after about 30 minutes.

Sunday, April 15th, 2012

Everything was going fine, but then my nose started bleeding after I sneezed a couple of times. And so, my mother took me to the clinic again.

18:35

Today is Easter in Egypt, and also my first day after surgery. In the infamous waiting room, I sat with my mother. There were two Lybian guys on the right, one of them on a wheeled chair. There was a mother with two kids; a boy and a girl, and a couple with a baby. An old woman came in with a couple, and she leaned/slept on the woman’s shoulder. I proceeded to read in The DaVinci Code.

19:05

The doctor saw me then we went to wait in an empty room.

There was a cool yellow chair in that said room; which was actually a clinic.

Epic yellow chair is epic! (April 15th, 2012)

The doctor then came in, and he cauterized my wound with Silver Nitrate, then packed it with something more advanced than the mere cotton they gave me yesterday. I finally went home, and now everything is good. I am supposed to remove that pack on Tuesday, and maybe there will be more to tell then.

This entry was posted in Real Life Stories and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Surgery Day & The Aftermath

  1. 私 ザ says:

    good to have u back :)

What do you say?

