Daily Prompt: Buffalo Nickel

Posted: February 24, 2013 in Thoughts, True Story
Tags: , , ,

From The Daily Post: “Dig through your couch cushions, your purse, or the floor of your car and look at the year printed on the first coin you find. What were you doing that year?”

That was easy! I leaned to the right and reached for my wallet inside my backpack. I pulled the first coin out without looking.

One Egyptian pound from the year. . . 2008!

I’ll be damned. It had to be the year that I by far consider the hardest year of my life. I guess it was all because I was young and inexperienced, but I learned a lot in that year.

In 2008, I cut my hair from waist length to shoulder length, despite my mother’s objections.

In 2008, I was fascinated with shirts and ties.

In 2008, I had my first crush over the Internet.

In 2008, I was studying for the last year of high school.

In 2008 (but it might have been 2009), I learned The Secret.

In 2008, I learned that both looks and acts can be deceiving, and nothing’s as it seems.

In the end of 2008, I had written this note on Facebook to sum the year up, titled As we say goodbye to 2008; I’d like to say a couple of words…”

I don’t know about you guys, but this was not – by any measures – one of the good years of my life.

Sure, there have been a couple of good things down the road, ’cause life is not all bad. But there was a lot of bad things, and I’ve seen my share.

Aside from all the natural catastrophes, war, manslaughter… etc., there was also bad things I’ve seen in everyday life. And that’s what I am going to talk about.

I learned that people change; and not always – as I thought – to the best. Some people just go from bad to worse; ’til you can’t even recognize them anymore.

Everyone we deal with is looking for their – and only their – personal gain. Most people don’t mind anymore if they step over a few – or many – heads just to get to their goals.

I also learned that you can’t trust people at first sight. Instead, you need to analyze and analyze until you come to the decision whether they can be trusted at all.

I have also learned that first impressions most often – if not always – deceive you. Always look again, and again, and again… always keep looking, because nobody is flawless. We are, after all, humans.

On the other hand, there were good things in this year.

I knew who my friends really are; not only at school but everywhere. I also met a lot of good and unique people through the Internet and my private lessons.
I got good grades last year, and I am doing alright this year.
I have also discovered many good things about myself, and fixed some of the bad ones.

In the end, I thank God for giving my family, my friends, and myself health, and for keeping us alive to see a new year, and maybe have a new chance.
I pray for all the sick people I know to get well soon and to no longer suffer.
I pray for the poor, the hungry and the homeless.
I pray for the evil and the wicked to find the way of light, that way only they can find from deep withing, without another one’s directions or guidance.
I pray for my friends to succeed in their studies, be it school or college.

May you all succeed in everything you do, and may all your wishes come true.
Happy New Year.

[P.S.: This note was not edited, so some of my thoughts and beliefs back then might have changed now. This was me then, and this is what I am showing you today.]

Comments
  1. [...] Daily Prompt: Buffalo Nickel | Venom’s B [...]

  2. [...] Daily Prompt: Buffalo Nickel | Venom’s Blog [...]

  3. [...] Daily Prompt: Buffalo Nickel | Venom’s Blog [...]

  4. [...] Daily Prompt: Buffalo Nickel | Venom’s Blog [...]

  5. [...] Prompt: Buffalo Nickel | Musical Foodie Love 31. A little perspective … | Playing for Time 32. Daily Prompt: Buffalo Nickel | Venom’s Blog 33. Daily Prompt: Buffalo Nickel | Joe’s Musings 34. I’m rich! (In worthless old currency, [...]

What do you say?

